/ enMain menu 
Navigation:  Theatre Database
EN | CS | DE

Playhouse Neubrandenburg

alias Neues Komödienhaus
history of the theatresupplementtechnical dataHistoric equipment

Important events

(detail)1787 | construction

(detail)1880 | Rebuilding (Sanatorium)

(detail)1990 | Reconstruction

(detail)1994 | Opening


When at the end of World War II the historic city centre of Neubrandenburg fell victim to the flames, a gem remained miracu lously intact: the Playhouse (Schauspielhaus). The halftimbered building made of clay bricks had been constructed in 1793/94 as a summer theatre for the court theatre troupe of Duke Adolf Friedrich IV of Mecklenburg-Strelitz.

Today it is the oldest theatre in the region. Used for non-theatrical purposes from the late 19th century onward, the building was rediscovered as a theatre by way of a thorough sanitation between 1990 and 1994. The vaulted ceiling of the auditorium, the central box, the foyer and the outer walls were restored, the vanished stage replaced with a modern one. Since then, the theatre and orchestra holding “Theater und Orchester GmbH Neubrandenburg/Neustrelitz” has been presenting 150 performances here every year, covering all genres.


Visits: on appointment · box office: Tue–Fri 10:00 to 13:00 and 13:30 to 17:00

on appointment · box office: Tue–Fri 10:00 to 13:00 and 13:30 to 17:00



Additional information

No information has yet been entered

Add information

Name: The name will be published

Email: The email will not be published

Information: Please enter information about this theatre, at least 10 characters